Sociology Resources
Content developed by:
Rui Wang Reference Librarian/
Social Science Bibliographer
Phone: (989) 774-4218
E-mail:wang1r@cmich.edu
For indvidual assistance, please contact Rui Wang.
Online References | Online Article Indexes | Books | Writing & Style Guides |Internet Gateways
Last Updated: 9/11/08
Background Information - Online References
Encyclopedias:
- Encyclopedia of sociology
- Encyclopedia of social problems
- Encyclopedia of race and racism
- Encyclopedia of race, ethnicity, and society
- Poverty in America
- Rich and poor in America
- Social trends & indicators USA
- Welfare
- Encyclopedia of sex and gender
- Prejudice
- Race relations in the United States in the United States, 1920-1940
- Race relations in the United States, 1940-1960
- Race relations in the United States, 1980-2000
Online Article Indexes
Disciplinary indexes
- Sociological Abstracts
Index in sociology and related disciplines includes citations to articles, books, and book chapters. - Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1967-Current
Contemporary sociology, comparative sociology, consumer culture
Other Online Indexes
- Criminal Justice Abstracts
- Ethnic NewsWatch
- Gender Watch
- Issues and controversies facts on file helps researchers understand today's crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture.
- Social Services Abstracts
Books
Writing & Style Guides
- Style guides
- Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (REF BF76 .7 .P83 2001) at the reference desk
- APA Style Electronic References
- ASA style guide / American Sociological Association. (REF HM73 .A54 1997t)
- Chicago manual of style (REF Z253 .U69 1993) at the reference desk
- ICPSR Citing Electronic Data Files
- Sociology student writer's manual (REF HM73 .S637 2000)
Internet Gateways
- Verstehen: Max Weber's HomePage
- Marxism Page
- C. Wright Mills' HomePage
- SocioSite: Sociological Subject
The site is created by sociologists around the world for scholarly communication.