Criminal Justice
Content developed by:
Rui Wang Reference Librarian/
Social Science Bibliographer
Phone: (989) 774-4218
E-mail:wang1r@cmich.edu
For individual assistance, please contact Rui Wang.
Reference Books | Books | Research Databases | Writing & Style Guides | Internet Gateways | Organizations
Last Updated: 6/5/08
Background Information - Online References
- The criminal law handbook
- Crime & punishment in the United States
- Crime and punishment in America reference library
- Domestic violence: a global view
- The encyclopedia of addictive drugs
- Encyclopedia of drugs, alcohol & addictive behavior
- Encyclopedia of race and racism
- Encyclopedia of social problems
- Encyclopedia of sociology
- Gale encyclopedia of everyday law
- Handbook of forensic services
- Mafia encyclopedia
- National survey of state laws
- The rights of crime victims
- Sourcebook of criminal justice statistics
- World encyclopedia of police forces and correctional systems
- Encyclopedia of law enforcement / Larry Sullivan, general editor.; Law:NON-CIRC. ; HV7921 .E53 2005
- Encyclopedia of American prisons REF HV9471 .S54 2003
- Concise encyclopedia of crime and criminals (REF HV6017 .S35)
- Encyclopedia of criminology and deviant behavior REF HV6017 .E53 2001
- Encyclopedia of American crime REF HV 6789 .S54 2001
- Encyclopedia of crime and justice.REF HV6017 .E52 2002
- Encyclopedia of women and crime HV 6046 .E56 2000
- Guns in American society : an encyclopedia of history, politics, culture, and the law HV7436 .G8783 2002
- Prisons and prison systems : a global encyclopedia HV8665 .R67 2006
Dictionaries:
- American dictionary of criminal justice : key terms and major court cases / Dean John Champion.; Reference:NON-CIRC. ; HV7411 .C48 2005
- American dictionary of criminal justice REF HV6768 .E63 2005 Anderson's directory of criminal justice education : including criminology, law and justice related programs (REF HV7419.5 .N46 1986)
- Concise dictionary of crime and justice HV6017 .D38 2002
- Cops, crooks, and criminologists : an international biographical dictionary of law enforcement / Charles Phillips and Alan Axelrod, with Kurt Kemper REF HV7911.A1 A94 2000
- FBI encyclopedia HV 8144 .F43 N48 2003
Others:
- Crime and punishment in America : a historical bibliography (REF Z5703.5.U5 C7 1984)
- Criminal justice ethics : annotated bibliography and guide to sources (REF Z5703.4.C73 S36 1991)
- Data collections available from the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (REF HV7245 .N38x)
- Dictionary of American criminal justice : key terms and major supreme Court cases (REF HV7411 .C53 1998t)
- Dictionary of criminology (REF HV6949.E5 D5 1983)
- Handbook of federal police and investigative agencies (REF HV8138 .T67 1985)
- Sourcebook Of Criminal Justice Statistics (GOV J 29.9/6:)
- U.S. criminal justice interest groups : institutional profiles (REF HV9950 .H35 1993)
Books
Research Databases
- Criminal Justice Abstracts
Coverage of the major journals in criminology and related disciplines, books, and reports from government and nongovernmental agencies. - Criminology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Criminal justice, corrections, penology, policing 1976-Current - Issues and controversies facts on file helps researchers understand today's crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture.
- Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1967-Current
Contemporary sociology, comparative sociology, consumer culture - Sociological Abstracts
Index in sociology and related disciplines includes citations to articles, books, and book chapters. - GPO Monthly Catalog(U.S. government publications - CMU has been a US Federal Depository Library since 1958)
Covering US government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.)
Writing & Style Guides
- Style guide
- Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (REF BF76 .7 .P83 2001) at the reference desk
- APA Style Electronic References
- ASA style guide / American Sociological Association. (HM73 .A54 1997t)
- Chicago manual of style (REF Z253 .U69 1993) at the reference desk
- Sociology student writer's manual (HM73 .S637 2000)
Internet Gateways
- OJJDP Publications
- FBI Uniform Crime Reports
- Bureau of Justice Statistics Crime and Victims Statistics
- Federal Bureau of Prisons QUICK FACTS
- Homicide Research Working Group
- Justice Research and Statistics Association
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service
- Office for Victims of Crime: Topical Resources
- Office for Victims of Crime: Research and Statistics About Victims of Crime
- National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD)
- RAND civil and criminal justice
- United Nations Surveys on Crime Trends and the Operations of Criminal Justice Systems
Organizations
Government Agencies
- Federal Bureau of Investigation
- Federal Bureau of Prisons
- U.S. Department of Justice
- Bureau of Justice Statistics
- Office of Justice Programs Homepage
Associations
- American Bar Association - Criminal Justice Section
- American Correctional Association
- American Society of Criminology
- National Criminal Justice Association
- American Criminal Justice Association-Lambda Alpha Epsilon
- National Association of Blacks in Criminal Justice
- Southern Criminal Justice Association
- Canadian Criminal Justice Association