Physics and Astronomy
Content developed by:
David Ginsburg, Reference Librarian /
Physics Bibliographer
Phone: (989) 774-1293
E-mail: david.ginsburg@cmich.edu
Reference Databases | Internet Gateways | Organizations | Patents | Science Humor
Last Updated: 06/27/2009
Reference Databases
- AIP Style Manual Fourth Edition (1990)
- ARI Bibliographic Database for Astronomical References
From the Astronomisches Reichen-Institut Heidelberg, this database provides references to the astronomical literature from the Astronomy and Astrophysics Abstracts and its predecessors covering antiquity until the middle of the year 2000. - arXiv.org e-Print archive
The preprint server, formerly hosted by Los Alamos, now at Cornell - Astronomical Data Services [U.S. Naval Observatory]
- Astrophysics Data System: Abstracts Service
Abstracts from hundreds of astronomy journals and other publications. - Astrophysics Data System: Article Service
Full-images of articles from back issues of 21 astronomy journals. - Center for the History of Physics
- Conversion of Units
- Dictionary of Scientific Biography, Complete
- Dictionary of Units of Measurement
- E-Print Network
- Eric Weisstein's World of Physics
- Hubble Site
- INSPEC
The online version of Physics Abstracts - International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry & Technology
- Journal Citation Reports [ISI]
- Knovel Critical Tables
- Knovel Library
- Landolt-Bornstein Indexes
- Macrogalleria
Polymers and related subjects for students of all levels, from K-12 to graduate level, and the general public as well. " A cyberwonderland of polymer fun." - National Geophysical Data Center [National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration]
- NIST Standard Reference Data Products
- Periodic Table
- Physical Reference Data [NIST]
- Polymer Handbook
- Science Learning Network
- SciFinder Scholar
The Chemical Abstracts database plus more. Only available on selected workstations on the 2nd floor of Park Library. - Sloan Digital Sky Survey
- SPIN [Searchable Physics Information Notices]
Abstracts from over 80 journals published by the American Institute of Physics and its member societies, 1975 to the present. - Stephen Hawking's Universe
- Table of Fundamental Physical Constants
Internet Gateways
- NASA Astrophysics Data System
- Physics: An Annotated List of Key Resources on the Internet
- PhysLINK
- Science.gov: FirstGov for Science
A gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.
Organizations
- American Society for Testing and Materials
- American Institute of Physics
- American Physical Society
- CMU Advanced Materials Research
- CMU Department of Physics
- Institute of Physics
- Materials Research Society
- NASA
- Star Worlds
Searchable directory of organizations, institutions, associations, companies, and so on, involved in astronomy and related space sciences.
Patents
- US Patent and Trademark Office Web Patent Databases
Full-page images of all US patents issued since 1790, plus fully-searchable full-text of all US patents issued since 1976. Also US patent applications since 15 March 2001. - DEPATISnet Information
Search US:1973+, EP:1978+, WO:1978+. DE:1973+, DD:1973+, AT:1973+, CH:1973+, FR:1973+, GB:1973+, and JP:1973+ patents and applications. Some links to full-text. - European Patent Office
- Free Patents Online
U.S. patents, 1976 to date, as PDF files, all pages in one file. - Japan Patent Office
Includes English machine-translations of some Japanese patents. Read help screens. - Patent Fetcher
All U.S. patents and some foreign patents, as PDF files, all pages in one file.
Science Humor
- Annals of Improbable Research
- Physics and Science Fun, Humor, Jokes, Cartoons and more..
- Physics Humor on the Web
- Physics Limericks
- Science Made Stupid
- Weird Research, Anomalous Physics