Geology
Content developed by:
David Ginsburg, Reference Librarian /
Geology Bibliographer
Phone: (989) 774-1293
E-mail: david.ginsburg@cmich.edu
Reference Databases | Internet Gateways | Organizations
Last Updated: 11/19/2009
Reference Databases
- Athena Mineralogy
- Conversion of Units
- Dictionary of Scientific Biography, Complete
- Dictionary of Units of Measurement
- Encyclopedia of Earth
- Gemrocks: Compiled by R. V. Dietrich
- GeoRef Database
- Geologic Names Lexicon: "Geolex" [USGS]
- Geologic Time Scale
- Geology in the National Parks
- Guide to the Orders of Trilobites
- Images [from Oberlin College]
- Journal Citation Reports [ISI]
- Landolt-Bornstein
- Mineralogy Database
- Minerals Yearbook [USGS]
- National Geologic Map Database [USGS]
A Searchable Catalog of paper and digital geologic maps - National Geophysical Data Center [National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration]
- Paleobiology Database
- Paleomap Project
Paleographic reconstructions; Late Precambrian to Recent. - Paleontology Portal [University of California Museum of Paleontology]
- Periodic Table
- Table of Fundamental Physical Constants
- This Dynamic Earth: The Story of Plate Tectonics [USGS]
- Topographic Map Symbols
- Understanding Our Planet Through Chemistry [USGS]
- USGS National Earthquake Information Center
- USGS Publications Warehouse
Contains full-texts for a large number of USGS publications. - USGS Topographic Maps
- U.S. Geological Survey Library
- Volcano World
Internet Gateways
- Links for Mineralogists
Very wide and extensive coverage. Includes related fields such as petrology, geochemistry, etc. - Science.gov: FirstGov for Science
A gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results. - University of Waterlooo Electronic Library: Earth Sciences
- West's Geology Directory
Organizations
- American Geological Institute
- American Geophysical Union
- CMU Department of Geology
- Geological Society of America
- Mineralogical Society of America
- U.S. Geological Survey