Philosophy Resources
Content developed by:
Michael Lorenzen, Head of Reference /
Philosophy Bibliographer
Phone: (989) 774-1858
E-mail: michael.lorenzen@cmich.edu
Electronic Databases | Reference Books | Web Directories | Online Texts | E-Journals
Last Updated: 11/24/08
There are a large number of resources relating to philosophy in both print and online. This list will direct you to electronic resources, reference books, web directories, online philosophy texts, and online philosophy journals. Portions of this guide have been copied from the Open Directory Project and I am using the data here in compliance with their open license.
Electronic Databases
- Philosopher's Index - CMU users only.
Covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. - Humanities Abstracts - CMU users only.
A selective database covering over 465 journals in the humanities from 1984 to the present. Includes not only feature articles, but also book reviews, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction (including dramas and poems), and reviews of plays and television and radio programs. Also includes some non-English records.
Reference Books
- The Concise Encyclopedia Of Western Philosophy And Philosophers. REFERENCE (B41 .U7 1960a)
- Dictionary of the History of Ideas; Studies of Selected Pivotal Ideas. REFERENCE (CB5 .D52)
- The Cambridge Dictionary Of Philosophy. REFERENCE (B41 .C35 1995)
- The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy. REFERENCE (B41 .B53 1994)
- Dictionary of Logical Terms and Symbols. REFERENCE (QA9 .G698)
- The Oxford Companion to the Mind. REFERENCE (BF31 .O93 1987x)
- The Encyclopedia Of Philosophy. REFERENCE (B41 .E5 1972x)
- Routledge Encyclopedia Of Philosophy. REFERENCE (B51 .R68 1998)
- Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. REFERENCE (BH56 .E53 1998)
- Directory of American Philosophers. REFERENCE (B935 .D5)
- International Directory of Philosophy and Philosophers. REFERENCE (B35 .I55)
- Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Philosophers. REFERENCE (B104 .B5 1996t
Web Directories
- Yahoo!
This link will take you to the Arts/Humanities/Philosophy/ category. The listed sites are for the most part good. However, do not click on anything that says "sponsor results" as that is advertising. - Open Directory Project
This link will take you to the Society: Philosophy category which has over 6000 sites listed. This is the best philosophy directory on the web. - Skaffe
This link will take you to the Arts & Humanities > Philosophy category. It is a small but growing list. - Joeant
This link will take you to the Arts_and_Humanities > Humanities > Philosophy category.
Online Philosophy Texts
- CogPrints: Philosophy
A repository of online papers in various subject areas of philosophy. - Digital Text at ILTweb5
E-texts and links to other resources. - English Server Philosophy Texts
Links to canonical philosophic texts available for viewing. - Glyn Hughes' Squashed Philosophers
Condensed editions of 21 classic philosophy texts, with study notes and glossary. - Hanover Historical Texts Project
A lot of philosophical e-texts. - The Ixyl Institute
Contains essays from several authors on cognitive science, contemporary politics, and the theory of both disciplines. - Malaspina Great Books Home Page
Research bibliographies, books, art, music, science, theater, and cinema with links to 1,100 interdisciplinary entries compiled by Russell McNeil. - A Miniature Library of Philosophy
Marxists.org collection of texts from the history of philosophy tracing the development of ideas on the relation between consciousness and matter; includes 120 philosophers over the course of 400 years. - The Paideia Project Online: Archive Sections
Proceedings of the 20th World Congress of Philosophy. The main index for the archive of contributed papers; ongoing contributions. - PeBook
Directory of philosophical ebooks. - Perseus Texts and Translations
Texts and Translations of ancient Greeks, and Romans. - Philosophy Archive at Marxists.org
120 Western philosophers from 1600 to 2000, on the origins and validity of knowledge. - Philosophy E-texts
A number of e-texts of famous philosophers. - Philosophy of Technology Essays
Contains philosophical essays on various topics within the philosophy of technology by main philosophers. - Philosophy online
A listing by period, place, school and philosophers of philosophical on-line texts. Includes links to major libraries and e-text databases. - Philosophy Texts at Lancaster University
Texts of Locke, Berkeley, Hume, Leibniz and Pascal.
Philosophy E-Journals
- CLE e-Prints
Publishes pre-prints of academic articles of higher level in logic, epistemology and history of science, of which at least one of the authors is an official member or a visiting researcher of CLE or is attached to some academic group of CLE (Centre for Logic, Epistemology and the History of Science of the University of Campinas, Brazil). - Contretemps
Australian journal which aims to bring together thinkers and writers in field of Continental Philosophy. - Cultural Logic
An electronic journal of Marxist theory and practice. - Ends and Means
Journal of the Centre for Philosophy, Technology and Society at the University of Aberdeen, devoted to philosophical explorations of the social, moral and conceptual implications of modern technology. Selected archives, online article submission. - Examined Life
A journal dedicated to enhancing the dialectic of philosophy for the professional, student, and amateur philosopher. - HYLE
Refereed international journal for the philosophy of chemistry. - Isonomia
Journal of the institute of philosophy at Urbino University, Italy. - Labyrinth
Peer-reviewed international on-line journal for philosophy, feminist theory, and cultural hermeneutics, edited by the Institute for Axiological Research, Austria (ISSN 1561-8927). Includes articles in English, French and German. Free on-line subscriptions allowed. - Logos
A critical journal of modern society and culture publishing articles, reviews and interviews. - Minerva
Annual Online Journal of Philosophy. - The Philosopher
Featuring articles, image gallery, and book recommendations. - Philosophers' Imprint
Free, refereed electronic philosophy journal, edited by philosophy faculty at the University of Michigan. - Pli: The Warwick Journal of Philosophy
Journal focusing on the continental tradition, published twice yearly. Articles available in PDF format. - polylog: Forum for Intercultural Philosophizing
Interdisciplinary scholarly journal for intercultural dialogue in philosophy, comparative philosophy, inter-religious questions, and problems of multicultural phenomena. - The Proceedings of the Friesian School
An electronic journal of philosophy, promoting the principles and the further development of the Critical Philosophy of Kant and the Friesian School. - Society for Philosophy and Technology
A quarterly electronic journal. - Sorites
Electronic international quarterly of analytical philosophy. dedicated to the promotion of analytical standards of rigour and clarity, favours no particular school or tendency within analytical philosophy. - Tekhnema: The Journal of Philosophy and Technology
Tekhnema presents a forum in which relations between philosophy and technology can be discussed, made more complex, and experimented upon. - TPM Online - The Philosophers Magazine on the Web
Philosophy articles, Bookstore, Events, Discussion board.