International Business Resources
Content developed by:
Judy O'Dell, Reference Librarian /
Business, Economics, and Law Bibliographer
Phone: (989) 774-3787
E-mail: judith.o'dell@cmich.edu
Associations and Organizations | Globalization | Government Offices | Guides to Information | Bibliography | Business Culture | Public Opinion | Trademarks | Classification | Demographics and Statistics | Country Profiles | Regional Information | Export/Import | Treaties | Search Engines/Global Web | Language/Translators/Dictionaries | Find an Article | Portals
See also: General Business | Economics
Last Updated: 11/9/09
Associations and Organizations
- International Chamber of Commerce
ICC is the world business organization. ICC promotes an open international trade and investment system and the market economy. Includes the World Chambers Network. - United Nations Industrial Development Organization
Purpose is to improve living conditions and promote global prosperity by offering solutions for industrial development of developing countries and those with economies in transition. - World Economic Forum
Provides a collaborative framework for the world's leaders to address global issues, engaging particularly its corporate members in global citizenship.
Globalization
- Center for Global Development
Not-for-profit think tank that conducts research and analysis on a wide range of topics related to how rich country policies impact people in the developing world. - Encyclopedia of globalization
Reference JZ1318 .E63 2007 - Encyclopedia of the global economy : a guide for students and researchers
Reference HF1359 .O28 2006 - Global Policy Forum
Monitors policy making at the United Nations, promotes accountability of global decisions, educates and mobilizes for global citizen participation, and advocates on vital issues of international peace and justice.
Government Offices
- Embassy World.com
Directory & Search Engine Of The World's Embassies & Consulates.
Guides to Information
- Compliance Exchange
UK site listing regulators, exchanges, associations and other information related to investment management. Most sections are international in scope.
Bibliography
- International Business Information: How to Find it, How to Use it
Reference HF54.5 P33 1998 - International Business Information on the Web: Searcher Magazine's Guide to Sites and Strategies for Global Business Research
Book HF 54.56 L364 2001 - Internet Resources and Services for International Business
Book HF 54.56 L58 1998 - Internet Resources and Services for International Marketing & Advertising
Book HF 1416 C69 2002
Business Culture
- Kiss, Bow or Shake Hands: how to do business in sixty countries, by Terri Morrison
Reference HF5389 M67 2006 - When in Rome or Rio or Riyadh: cultural q&as for successful business behavior around the world
Reference G156.5 B86 O46 2004
Public Opinion
- Global Voices Online
A non-profit global citizens’ media project, sponsored by and launched from the Berkman Center for Internet and Society at the Harvard Law School. - Pew Global Attitudes Project
Aims to gauge attitudes in every region toward globalization, trade and an increasingly connected world. - Public Agenda Online
A nonpartisan, nonprofit, objective explorer of public opinion. Founded by social scientist and author Daniel Yankelovich and former Secretary of State Cyrus Vance. - World Public Opinion
Provides a source of in-depth information and analysis on public opinion from around the world on international issues.
Trademarks
- WIPO Trademark Database Portal
Provides contact information/links to intellectual property offices and organizations worldwide.
Classification
- Industry Concordances
Listing of correspondence tables for international classification systems. - List of UK SIC Codes
List of U. K. SIC codes. - United Nations Classification Registry
Listing of correspondence tables for national and international economic, product and social classification systems. - United Nations Standard Products and Services Code
Provides a global multi-sector standard for classification of products and services.
Demographics and Statistics
- Demographic yearbook. Annuaire démographique
Reference Desk HA17 D45 - Euromonitor: Passport Reference and Markets
A database of international market research data by country, industry or company; along with demographic and economic statistics. CMU access only. - GEOHIVE::Global Statistics
Find primarily global, regional and country population data with a bit of economic information. - Information Technology Landscape in Nations Around the World.
The reports were created by students in the course " Impacts of National Information Technology Environments on Business", a 2nd year MBA course offered in the Kogod School of Business, at American University, Washington D.C. USA. - International Database
A data bank containing statistical tables of demographic, and socio-economic data for 227 countries and areas of the world. - International financial statistics
Periodicals HG3881 .I626 - NationMaster
Includes world statistics and country comparisons.
- Statistical yearbook. Annuaire statistique
Reference Desk HA12.5 .U63 - International trade statistics yearbook
Reference HF91 .U473 - Statistical Agencies (International)
Links to countries official statistical offices. - United Nations Statistics Division - Millennium Development Goals Indicators
Provides demographic information and socio-economic data for countries worldwide. - Year-book of labour statistics
Reference HD4826 .I63
Country Profiles
- Background Notes
Factual publications that contain information on all the countries of the world with which the United States has relations. - CIA World Factbook
Provides national-level information on countries, territories, and dependencies. - Country Insights
Country facts and cultural information on the countries of the world.
- Country Studies
Contains the on-line versions of books previously published in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the U.S. Department of Army. - Economist.com | Country Briefings
Provides articles, background profiles, forecasts and statistics, market and currency updates, newswires and links on 60 countries. - The Europa World Year Book
Reference Desk JN1 .E85 - Global Integrity
Track governance and corruption trends around the world. Global Integrity uses local teams of researchers and journalists to monitor openness and accountability. Publish an integrity index and country reports. - International Monetary Fund: Country Information
IMF reports and publications arranged by country.
- Portals to the World
A part of the Library of Congress Global Gateway, it provides selective links to information about the nations and other areas of the world. - TradePort Country Profiles
Provides data on 175 countries free of charge. - UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Global and internationally comparable statistics on education, science, technology, culture and communication. - University of Colorado at Boulder Libraries: Foreign Information by Country
Pathfinders to information about countries around the world.
Regional Information
Africa
- African Development Bank
Regional multilateral development bank, engaged in promoting the economic development and social progress of its Regional Member Countries (RMCs) in Africa. - COMESA: Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa
Promotes regional economic integration through trade and investment. - East African Community
The regional intergovernmental organisation of the Republics of Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania. - ECOWAS: Economic Community of West African States
A regional group of fifteen countries. Its mission is to promote economic integration in "all fields of economic activity.
Americas
- CARICOM: Caribbean Community Provides leadership and service toward the attainment of a viable, internationally competitive and sustainable Community.
- FTAA: Free Trade Area of the Americas
Promotes the effort to unite the economies of the Americas into a single free trade area. - AFTA: North American Free Trade Agreement
Administers the mechanisms specified under NAFTA to resolve trade disputes between national industries and/or governments.
Asia, Middle East, Australia
- ASEAN: Association of Southeast Asian Nations
Purpose is to accelerate the economic growth, social progress and cultural development in the region. - Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation
Forum for facilitating economic growth, cooperation, trade and investment in the Asia-Pacific region. - Asian Development Bank
Multilateral development finance institution dedicated to reducing poverty in Asia and the Pacific. - BISNIS
U.S. Government's primary market information center for U.S. companies exploring business opportunities in Russia and other Newly Independent States. - MENIC: The Middle East Network Information Center
Developed by the Center for Middle Eastern Studies at the University of Texas at Austin. It provides links to resources on the business and economic aspects of the Middle East. - REES Web: Russia and East European Studies Virtual Library
Developed at the University of Pittsburgh, it is a collection of business, economic, and legal links.
Europe
- EFTA: European Free Trade Association
An international organisation promoting free trade and economic integration. - EUROPA: The European Union On-Line
Portal site of the European Union. - European Union in the US
Search for informtion about the EU and its member countries. - European Union Internet Resources
Links to resources on various aspects of the EU.
- REES Web: Russia and East European Studies Virtual Library
Developed at the University of Pittsburgh, it is a collection of business, economic, and legal links.
Export/Import
- Buy USA.GOV
Provides business information and consulting services to assist the United States business community in the field of international trade.
- International Trade Administration
Purpose is to help U.S. businesses participate fully in the growing global marketplace. - International Trade Centre
A joint agency of the United Nations and the World Trade Organization, the Centre enables small business export success in developing countries by providing, with partners, sustainable and inclusive trade development solutions to the private sector, trade support institutions and policymakers.
- Public Libraries Briefcase - Importing Resources: Trade Leads
Bibliography of online sources to help in the identification of trade leads. - Export.gov
Portal to all export-related assistance and market information offered by the federal government.
Treaties
- ENTRI: Environmental Treaties and Resource Locator
Find status data for environmental treaties, treaty text and other related information easily. - Gatt Digital Library: 1947 -1994
Provides access to documents and information of and about the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade. Free registration is required to view the documents. - Treaties in Force: a List of Treaties and other International Acts of the United States (current)
Treaties in Force: a List of Treaties and other International Acts of the United States (archival issues)
Information on treaties and other international agreements to which the United States has become a party and which are carried on the records of the Department of State as being in force as of its stated publication date.
Search Engines/Global Web
- Alexa
Lists the most popular sites among users in each country, not sites hosted in the country. - Big Search Engine Index
International directory of search engines. - Country Based Search Engines
A list of country and regional search engines. - 80 Plus European Seach Engines and Directories
Search engines listed by country. - European Search Engines, Directories and Lists
Lists search resources that allow free registration. - Global by Design: Adventures in Web Globalization
Blog about issues related to globalizing the web.
Killer Info
Killer Info has a Results Guide and "Quick Peek" Feature to make searching Fast, Easy and Relevant.
Language/Translators/Dictionaries
- Babel Fish Translation
Alta Vista's text translator. - Fagan Finder: Translation Wizard
A tool which connects you directly to online translation tools. - Foreign Language Online Dictionaries and Free Translation Links
Includes dictionaries, grammars, and other language resources on the web.
- Free Online Dictionaries
Online and downloadable dictioanries. - Free Online Translator
Tranlations to major languages, has a limit of 150 words. - Free Text Online Translator: PROMPT
Text Translation service for English, German, French, Spanish, Portuguese (Brazilian), Italian and Russian. - Free Translation and Professional Translation Services
Site has a free text translator and website translator, or you opt for paid professional translation. - Google Language Tools
Search for pages written in a certain language, located in a specific country, or translate text. - Omniglot: Writing Systems & Languages of the World
Details of most alphabets and other writing systems in use, as well as quite a few ancient and invented ones. - WordReference.com
- Free online translation dictionaries.
Find an Article
- ABI/Inform
Index to periodical articles on all areas of business from U. S. and International publications. Covers 1971 to present and is updated weekly. Many articles are full text. CMU access only. - Kidon Media-Link
Links to newspapers and other news sources from almost every country and territory in the world. - Wire Service Stories
Search national and international news wire reports. CMU access only. - Major World Publications (non-english)
Search, by language, newspapers written in six European languages. CMU access only. - OnlineNewspapers.com
Thousands of newspapers listed by region and country. - PAIS International
Provides selective subjects and bibliographic access to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries. CMU access only. - Major World Newspapers
Search newspapers by region. CMU access only.
Portals
- EIU Global Technology Forum
Provides information and analysis to create business strategy for the global digital economy. - ELDIS
A gateway to information on development issues. - globalEDGE
Links to a wide array of resources about international business. - Internationalist
Links to resources for international business, investment and travel. - VIBES - Virtual International Business & Economic Sources
Provides links to comprehensive, regional and national sources of business information.