Economics Resources
Content developed by:
Judy O'Dell, Reference Librarian /
Business, Economics, and Law Bibliographer
Phone: (989) 774-3787
E-mail: judith.o'dell@cmich.edu
Associations and Organizations | Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Thesauri | Economic History | Working Papers | General Economic Statistical Data | Trade Data | Labor Data | Country Profiles | Treaties/Trade Agreements | Find an Article | Portals
See also: General Business | International Business
Last Updated: 11/11/09
Associations and Organizations
- International Labour Organization
Organization of member states designed to promote the adoption of humane conditions of labor. - International Monetary Fund
Promotes international monetary cooperation, exchange stability, and orderly exchange arrangements; fosters economic growth and high levels of employment; and provides temporary financial assistance to countries to help ease balance of payments adjustment. - Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development
The OECD groups 29 member countries in an organisation that provides governments a setting in which to discuss, develop and perfect economic and social policy. - United Nations
Purposes, as set forth in the Charter, are to maintain international peace and security; to develop friendly relations among nations; to cooperate in solving international economic, social, cultural and humanitarian problems and in promoting respect for human rights and fundamental freedoms. - United Nations Industrial Development Organization
Purpose is to improve living conditions and promote global prosperity by offering solutions for industrial development of developing countries and those with economies in transition. - World Bank Group
Mission is to fight poverty and help people help themselves and their environment. Site includes a significant amount of statistical data. - World Trade Organization
International organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations.
Africa
- African Development Bank
Regional multilateral development bank, engaged in promoting the economic development and social progress of its Regional Member Countries (RMCs) in Africa. - United Nations Economic Commission for Africa
One of five regional commissions of the United Nations. Its purpose is to support the economic and social development of its member States, foster regional integration, and promote international cooperation for Africa's development.
Americas
- American Economic Association
Mission is encouraging economic research and freedom of economic discussion, and issuing publications. - Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean
One of the five regional commissions of the United Nations. It was founded for the purposes of contributing to the economic development of Latin America. The promotion of the region's social development was later included among its primary objectives. - National Bureau of Economic Research
A private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. - National Association of Economic Educators
Purpose is to encourage and support economic education, enhance communication and work with the National Council in planning, implementing, and evaluating programs.
Asia, Middle East, Australia
- Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation
Forum for facilitating economic growth, cooperation, trade and investment in the Asia-Pacific region. - Asian Development Bank
Multilateral development finance institution dedicated to reducing poverty in Asia and the Pacific. - United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific
One of five regional commissions of the United Nations. Its purpose is to promote economic and social development through regional and subregional cooperation and integration. - United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia
One of five regional commissions of the United Nations. It promotes economic and social development through regional and subregional cooperation and integration.
Europe
- United Nations Economic Commission for Europe
One of five regional commissions of the United Nations. Its primary goal is to encourage greater economic cooperation among its member States.
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Thesauri
- Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy
Reference HF1373 P75 2009 - Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods
Covers all major facets of survey research methodology, from selecting the sample design and the sampling frame, designing and pretesting the questionnaire, data collection, and data coding, to the issues surrounding diminishing response rates, confidentiality, privacy, informed consent and other ethical issues, data weighting, and data analyses. CMU access only.
- Sage Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods
Defines and explains concepts, describes the implementation techniques, and presents an overview of approaches to research. Covers every major facet of qualitative methods, including access to research participants, data coding, research ethics, and the role of theory. CMU access only.
Economic History
- EH Net
Provides resources and promotes communication among scholars in economic history and related fields. - Gale Encyclopedia of U. S. Economic History
Articles on general business and economic history. Michigan residents only. - History of Economic Thought Website
Information on major economists, schools of economic thought and archival resources. - Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
International in scope and spanning all time periods of human history. CMU access only.
Reference HC15 O94 2003
- The World Wide Web Virtual Library Economic and Business History
Assists economic and business historians to locate web sites.
Working Papers
- AgEcon Search
Collects, indexes, and electronically distributes full text copies of scholarly research in the broadly defined field of agricultural economics. - ECONOMICS Working Paper Archive
Devoted to the free distribution of working papers in economics. - EconPapers
Access to economics working papers and journal articles.
General Economic Statistical Data
- American Factfinder
Provides statistics about American communities from the Dicennial Census, Economic Census and American Community Survey. - Bureau of Economic Analysis
Information on U. S. Economic Accounts. - Business Statistics of the United States
Gov. Doc. C59.11/3-1:year - CenStats Databases
Various statistical databases from the U. S. Census Bureau. - Economagic
Site of links to free, easily available economic time series data useful for economic research, in particular economic forecasting. - Economic Statistics Briefing Room
The purpose of this service is to provide easy access to current U. S. Federal economic indicators. - FAOSTAT
Database of international statistics on production, trade and products related to food and agriculture. - FedStats
Provides easy access to the full range of statistics and information produced by more than 70 U. S. federal agencies. - ForecasterCenter.com
Provides a focal point for forecasts beyond the current year and to serve a resource and community for understanding change. Forecasts from numerous sources are examined. Free registration is required. - FRASER: Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research
Provides links to scanned images of historical economic statistical publications, releases, and documents. - FRED II - Economic Data
The official economic data site of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. It provides economic and financial information in an easy-to-use format. - FreeLunch.com
Links to free economic, demographic & financial data from Moody's Economy.com. - Global Distribution of Poverty
Global Poverty Mapping Project seeks to enhance current understanding of the global distribution of poverty and the geographic and biophysical conditions of where the poor live. Contains zipped data sets.
- ICPSR
World's largest archive of computerized social science data. CMU access only. - International financial statistics
Periodicals HG3881 .I626 - OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the Web
International lists of free and easily accessible social, economic and general data from official or similar "quotable" sources, especially those providing current data and time series. - Public Libraries Briefcase - U. S. Demographics
Bibliography of online and print sources of demographic information. - State and County QuickFacts
Quick, easy access to facts about people, business, and geography - State BEARFACTS
Average personal income data for the 50 states.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
A collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. - Statistical Agencies (International)
Links to countries official statistical offices. - Statistical Resources on the Web
Provides links to international, foreign, national, state and local statistical sources. - Survey of Current Business
U.S international economic statistics updated monthly.
Trade Data
- EuroTrade online
Provides export and import data from EuroStat for each of the 15 major European Union countries. Must be accessed within the CMU Park Library. Reference desk personnel must enter login information. - Foreign Trade Statistics
Trade statistics between the U. S. and foreign countries covering the 1990s to current. - Interactive Tariff and Trade Data Web
Compiled from tariff and trade data from the U.S. Department of Commerce, the U.S. Treasury, and the U.S. International Trade Commission. - International Trade Administration: Office of Industry Analysis
Develop and disseminate trade and economic data. - International trade statistics yearbook
Reference HF91 .U473 - International Trade and Tariff Data
Contains statistics compiled by the World Trade Organization. - TradeStats Express
Get the latest annual trade data. Retrieve, visualize, analyze, print, and download your customized output. - USA trade online
Provides U.S. export and import information on more than 18,000 commodities. Must be accessed within the CMU Park Library. Reference desk personnel must enter login information. - USTR: Office of the United States Trade Representative
Responsible for developing and coordinating U.S. international trade, commodity, and direct investment policy, and overseeing negotiations with other countries. - Welcome to Trade Data Online
International trade statistics for the U. S. and Canada. - World Trade Annual
Reference HF53 .W6
Labor Data
- Bureau of Labor Statistics
Provides general information and statistical data on employment, consumer price index, compensation, and productivity. - Year-book of labour statistics
Reference HD4826 .I63
Country Profiles
- Background Notes
Factual publications that contain information on all the countries of the world with which the United States has relations. - CIA World Factbook
Provides national-level information on countries, territories, and dependencies. - Country Studies
Contains the on-line versions of books previously published in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the U.S. Department of Army. - Demographic yearbook. Annuaire démographique
Reference Desk HA17 D45 - Economist.com | Country Briefings
Provides articles, background profiles, forecasts and statistics, market and currency updates, newswires and links on 60 countries. - Euromonitor: Passport Reference and Markets
A database of international market research data by country, industry or company; along with demographic and economic statistics. CMU access only. - The Europa World Year Book
Reference Desk JN1 .E85 - International Monetary Fund: Country Information
IMF reports and publications arranged by country. - Portals to the World
A part of the Library of Congress Global Gateway, it provides selective links to information about the nations and other areas of the world. - Statistical yearbook. Annuaire statistique
Reference Desk HA12.5 .U63 - TradePort Country Profiles
Provides data on 175 countries free of charge. - United Nations Statistics Division - Country Profiles
Provides demographic information and socio-economic data for countries worldwide. - UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Global and internationally comparable statistics on education, science, technology, culture and communication.
Treaties/Trade Agreements
- ENTRI: Environmental Treaties and Resource Locator
Find status data for environmental treaties, treaty text and other related information easily. - Gatt Digital Library: 1947 -1994
Provides access to documents and information of and about the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade. Free registration is required to view the documents. - Treaties in Force: a List of Treaties and other International Acts of the United States (current)
Treaties in Force: a List of Treaties and other International Acts of the United States (archival issues)
Information on treaties and other international agreements to which the United States has become a party and which are carried on the records of the Department of State as being in force as of its stated publication date.
Find an Article
- ABI/Inform
Index to periodical articles on all areas of business from U. S. and International publications. Covers 1971 to present and is updated weekly. Many articles are full text. CMU access only. - DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals-Economics
Covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. - EconLit
Subject indexing and abstracts of journals and over 500 collective volumes per year, plus books, dissertations, and working papers. Covers 1969 to date and is updated monthly. CMU access only. - Social Science Abstracts
International, English-language periodicals in sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law. Covers 1983 to present and in updated monthly. CMU access only. - Wilson Business Abstracts
Indexes International, English-language business magazines, covering accounting, finance, management, and small business. Covers 1986 to present and is updated monthly. CMU access only.
Portals
- AmosWEB
Plain language site directed at a general audience. - ArgMax: Economics News, Data and Analysis
Contains economics news, data, and analysis, as well as various other economics related services. - Dr. T's EconLinks.com
Provides a portal to carefully screened economics, business and finance sources on the Web. - Economic Education Web
Provides support for economic education in all forms and at all levels.. - Europa
Current information about the European Union. - International Economics Network
Portal for international economics. - International Economics Study Center
Has a web based textbook and links to news on international economics and policy. - Liber8
An economic information portal for librarians and students from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis . - Library of Economics and Liberty
Dedicated to advancing the study of economics, markets, and liberty. It contains links to books, articles, statistical data and other Internet resources for students, teachers, researchers, and aficionados of economic thought. - RFE
A part of the American Economic Association web. - Intute: Social Sciences - Economics
An online database of high quality Internet resources for researchers and practitioners. - WebEc
Categorizes free information in economics on the WWW.